As a Magical user, you've already seen how much time you can get back in your day by using the Magical app. Help your colleagues save time by sharing shortcuts.
The benefits of sharing shortcuts
✅ Help new and current team members and friends get productive immediately
✅ Have confidence that you and your team are staying consistent
✅ Showcase your best time-saving shortcuts
This article will cover
- Sharing individual shortcuts
- Sharing shortcuts by tag
- Receiving shared shortcuts
- FAQs on sharing and receiving shortcuts
Want to skip the step-by-step written guide? Check out a 40 second video here on Sharing Shortcuts.
Sharing individual shortcuts
Step 1: Check the box (next to each shortcut) to indicate which shortcuts you'd like to share
Step 2: Select the share shortcut icon
Step 3: Copy and send the Share link
Sharing shortcuts by tag
Step 1: Select the filter icon
Step 2: Filter by the appropriate tag
Step 3: Select all shortcuts and click Share Shortcuts
Step 4: Copy and send the Share link. Pro Tip 💡: Make the share link into a Shortcut if you plan to share again in the future!
Note: the receiver will inherit the Tags that you have applied to your Shortcuts when they receive them. Learn more about Tags here.
FAQs on sharing shortcuts
Do I have to be signed in to share shortcuts?
Yes. You will need to be signed in to send shortcuts.
What happens if I send a shortcut to someone, but it conflicts with their shortcuts?
When a user receives shared shortcuts, Magical will identify any conflicts (e.g., shortcut trigger already being used) and either self resolve the conflict, or prompt the user to resolve conflicts. Common conflicts include:
- Duplicate Shortcuts: In cases where there are two of the exact same Shortcuts, Magical will self-resolve and keep the original shortcut.
- Trigger being used: If a trigger has already been taken, the user will be prompted to rename the shortcut they are receiving.
As a receiver of a shortcut, I am getting an error that my shortcut trigger is already being used, but it doesn't appear to be. Why is this happening?
Magical works by expanding a sequence of characters from your shortcut trigger. If that sequence is also contained in another shortcut, a conflict occurs. We will flag the conflict for both the new and existing shortcut so you can resolve it.
For example, imagine you received a Shortcut called *z, while you have another Shortcut in your library called *zoom. Magical would flag this as a conflict, because *zoom would no longer expand; every time you would try typing it, the expansion for *z would appear.
Does the person I send my shortcuts to inherit my Tags?
The receiver will get your shortcuts with your Name as the tag to help them decipher who it is from. We do not auto-assign tags as users may have their own preferences on naming. The receiver can always edit or delete the Tag (with your name) when they receive it.
What happens if I share shortcuts with someone who does not have Magical?
If a user does not have Magical and you share shortcuts with them, they will be prompted to download Magical. Once they download the app, your shared shortcuts will be waiting for them
What happens when I update Shortcuts that I previously shared? Does the person I sent them to get my updates?
Any updates made to shortcuts are not synced when a user has accepted those shortcuts already. For example, if the user has clicked on the share link and has received your shortcuts, they will not get any updates after that time.
That said, if you created a share link, make updates to your shortcuts, and the end user then clicks on and accepts your shortcuts, they will see your updated shortcuts.
Do sharing links expire?
No. Sharing links do not expire.